Several small passages link the Arcades to the parallel roads, Via Dr. Streiter Road and Via Argentieri Road. One of these is Vicolo della Pesa, which leads into Grano square, where the grain and agricultural market used to be.
This is the oldest urban centre of the Episcopal Town, where the castle of the bishops of Trento, which was demolished by Mainardo II of Tyrol in 1277, and Saint Andrew's church demolished in 1785 once stood.
Casa della Pesa
On the northern side of the square is one of the most picturesque buildings of the city: the Casa della Pesa (1634). It was the main public weighing-house until 1780.